Follow us

Scotland’s fortnightly political & current affairs magazine


Subscribe to Holyrood
Labour announces full list of 2019 general election candidates in Scotland

Vote Labour sign - Image credit: Steve Parsons/PA Archive/PA Images

Labour announces full list of 2019 general election candidates in Scotland

Labour has announced its full list of candidates for Scotland in the forthcoming general election.

The party’s seven MPs who took seats in the 2017 general election will all be standing again in the same seats, including Ian Murray, who has been the MP Edinburgh South since 2010, and currently holds the safest seat in Scotland with a majority of 15,514 in 2017.

Among those hoping to take new seats for Labour are MSP and former Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont in Glasgow South and in Dunfermline and West Fife former MSP and current Scottish Labour vice-chair Cara Hilton, who represented Dunfermline in the Scottish Parliament from 2013 to 2016.

Scottish Labour leader Richard Leonard said: “Over the past two weeks, Scottish Labour has made the case for a radical policy programme for real change to transform Scotland’s economy and communities, putting power and resources in the hands of the many.

“We have announced the building of 120,000 new council and social homes – creating at least 50,000 jobs.

“We will create 35,000 new jobs with our £6 billion programme to retrofit homes to the highest energy efficiency standards.

“We also want to increase investment in social care by 25 per cent and establish a Scottish care service, which will bring dignity back to care workers and care users alike.

“We want to eliminate child poverty and increase maternity pay.

“And under Labour, every worker, including young workers, will be paid at least a £10 an hour real living wage.

“This will also be the basis of our minimum student income in Scotland, which will ensure full-time undergraduates and – for the first time ever – further education students receive at least £9,500 each year.

“But all this is under threat from Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP, who are saying they would be prepared to vote down a Labour government.

“It is clearer than ever that there is no shortcut to a Labour government through the SNP.

“The only way to ensure Boris Johnson’s Tories are replaced with a transformative Labour government under Jeremy Corbyn is to return Scottish Labour MPs at the general election.”


Full list of Labour candidates:

Aberdeen North: Nurul Hoque Ali

Aberdeen South: Shona Simpson

Airdrie and Shotts: Helen McFarlane

Angus: Monique Miller

Argyll and Bute: Rhea Barnes

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock: Duncan Townson

Banff and Buchan: Brian Balcombe

Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk: Ian Davidson

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross: Cheryl McDonald

Central Ayrshire: Louise McPhater

Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill: Hugh Gaffney

Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East: James McPhilemy

Dumfries and Galloway: Ted Thompson

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale: Nick Chisholm

Dundee East: Rosalind Garton

Dundee West: James Malone

Dunfermline and West Fife: Cara Hilton

East Dunbartonshire: Callum McNally

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow: Monique McAdams

East Lothian: Martin Whitfield

East Renfrewshire: Carolann Davison

Edinburgh East: Sheila Gilmour

Edinburgh North and Leith: Gordon Monro

Edinburgh South: Ian Murray

Edinburgh South West: Sophie Cooke

Edinburgh West: Craig Bolton

Falkirk: Safia Ali

Glasgow Central: Faten Hameed

Glasgow East: Kate Watson

Glasgow North: Pam Duncan-Glancey

Glasgow North East: Paul Sweeney

Glasgow North West: Patricia Ferguson

Glasgow South: Johann Lamont

Glasgow South West: Matt Kerr

Glenrothes: Pat Egan

Gordon: Heather Herbert

Inverclyde: Martin McCluskey

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey: Lewis Whyte

Kilmarnock and Loudoun: Kevin McGregor

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath: Lesley Laird

Lanark and Hamilton East: Andrew Hilland

Linlithgow and Falkirk East: Wendy Milne

Livingston: Caitlin Kane

Midlothian: Danielle Rowley

Moray: Jo Kirby

Motherwell and Wishaw: Angela Feeney

Na h-Eileanan an Iar: Alison MacCorquodale

North Ayrshire and Arran: Cameron Gilmore

North East Fife: Wendy Haynes

Ochil and South Perthshire: Lorna Robertson

Orkney and Shetland: Coilla Drake

Paisley and Renfrewshire North: Alison Taylor

Paisley and Renfrewshire South: Moira Ramage

Perth and North Perthshire: Angela Bretherton

Ross, Skye and Lochaber: John Erskine

Rutherglen and Hamilton West: Ged Killen

Stirling: Mary-Kate Ross

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine: Patrick Coffield

West Dunbartonshire: Jean Anne Mitchell

Read the most recent article written by Jenni Davidson - Scottish Labour launches consultation on creating a national care service

Stay in the know with our fortnightly magazine

Stay in the know with our fortnightly magazine


Popular reads
Back to top