Follow us

Scotland’s fortnightly political & current affairs magazine


Subscribe to Holyrood
Shortlist announced for Scottish Public Service Awards 2019

The 2018 Winners - Scottish Public Service Awards

Shortlist announced for Scottish Public Service Awards 2019

The shortlist for the 2019 Scottish Public Service Awards, celebrating excellence in Scotland’s public sector, has been announced.

The ten members of the judging panel, which included Presiding Officer Ken Macintosh, Auditor General Caroline Gardner and newly appointed Scottish Parliament chief executive David McGill, released a shortlist for the 12 awards ahead of the ceremony on 4 December.

Announcing the shortlisted entries, Macintosh said the nominations told “a story about the commitment, the passion and the belief that runs through those who work in public service in Scotland”.

Last year’s winners included Dundee and Angus College, which picked up the Campbell Christie Public Service Reform Award for its Going From Good to Great project, aimed at driving improvement across the institution, and the Scottish Parliament and YWCA Scotland, which won an award for Championing Gender Equality following the Young Women Lead project.

In 2018 Sir George Reid’s contribution to public life was recognised with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2019 winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Scottish Parliament on 4 December.

Scottish Parliament Presiding Officer, the Rt. Hon. Ken Macintosh MSP, said: “Each and every one of these award nominations tells a story about the commitment, the passion and the belief that runs through those who work in public service in Scotland. 

“It is so important that we recognise and celebrate our public servants and the Scottish Parliament is delighted to play its part making this happen.”

Mandy Rhodes, Managing Director of Holyrood Communications and chair of the judging panel, said: “The judges were overwhelmed by the standard of nominations this year which pays testament to the valuable work carried out in our communities day in and day out by people who dedicate themselves to the public good.

“What a joy it was to read through so many inspiring stories about basically a Scotland that works together to meet and overcome challenge.”


The shortlist:

The Campbell Christie Public Service Reform Award

- Mental Health Hub, NHS 24

- Home1st for Inverclyde, Inverclyde Health & Social Care Partnership

- The Borderlands Deal, UK Government

Community Engagement Award

- Dundee Fairness Commission, Dundee City Council

- Team Up to Clean Up, Renfrewshire Council

- Violence Reduction Unit, One Community Scotland

The Third Sector Partnership Award

- The New Routes public social partnership, The Wise Group

-  MCR Pathways and Glasgow City Council

- Fuel Poverty, South Ayrshire Council and the Energy Agency

The Project and Programme Management Award

- Directorate for Environment & Forestry, Scottish Government

- The Attainment Challenge, Renfrewshire Council

- More Homes Division – Scottish Government – Rural & Islands Housing Fund

The Leadership Award

- Lisa Hastie, City of Edinburgh Council

- Derek Flood, Inverclyde Health & Social Care Partnership

- Janie McManus, Education Scotland

The Communications Award

- Best Start Grant, Social Security Scotland

- Scottish Domestic Abuse Helpline, The Scottish Government

- Detect Cancer Early Programme, The Scottish Government

The Digital Public Services Award

- Gift-tech, Glasgow Clyde College

- Mind of My Own

- Telehealth, NHS National Services Scotland

Championing Gender Equality Award

- The Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body

- Glasgow Caledonian University

- WRS, ‘Bookmakers united against domestic abuse’

The Rising Star Award

- Ashley Black, Police Constable, Police Scotland

- Mhairi Gavin, Assistant Clerk, Scottish Parliament

- Paige Evans, Integration and Change Officer, Capital City Partnership

The Employee Development and Skills Award

- Scotland Excel Academy/Improvement Service

- Dundee City Council, Dundee Digital Champions

- Business Analysis Unit, Social Security Directorate

The Colin Mair Award for Policy in Practice

- Scottish Child Payment, Scottish Government

- HSCP and Ardgowan hospice fund and Compassionate Inverclyde, Inverclyde Council

- North East Division Licensing Team, Police Scotland

The Commercial Partnerships Award

- Free Period Products, Scottish Government FareShare and Hey Girls

- WRS, ‘Bookmakers united against domestic abuse’

- CivTech, Scottish Government

Read the most recent article written by Staff reporter - Fifty women at 50 part five: "The next few years are likely to be my most productive”

Stay in the know with our fortnightly magazine

Stay in the know with our fortnightly magazine


Popular reads
Back to top