Subscribe to Holyrood updates

Newsletter sign-up


Follow us

Scotland’s fortnightly political & current affairs magazine


Subscribe to Holyrood
by Staff reporter
19 October 2023
Holyrood magazine shortlisted 12 times in PPA Scotland Awards

PPA Scotland award winners 2021

Holyrood magazine shortlisted 12 times in PPA Scotland Awards

Holyrood has been shortlisted 12 times for prestigious media awards.

Amongst the nominations for the Columnist of the Year award at the is Holyrood’s editor Mandy Rhodes and political editor Louise Wilson.  

Rhodes has also been shortlisted in the Writer of the Year category alongside Holyrood journalists Kirsteen Paterson and Margaret Taylor.

The PPA Scotland Awards celebrates the best of the Scottish publishing and media industry. This year's entries “shine a light on the exceptional individuals and companies who delivered outstanding work within the last year”, organisers said.

This year's nominations follow success for Holyrood at the PPA Scotland Awards last year, where Rhodes picked up Columnist of the Year and Writer of the Year. The team also won the Commercial Performance of the Year award.

Rhodes, managing director of Holyrood Communications and editor of its flagship title, Holyrood magazine, said: “I am delighted that the hard work and immense talent of the Holyrood teams across editorial, production, events and sales have been so hugely recognised by this year's shortlists in the PPA Scotland magazine awards.  

“I don't need any awards to tell me how brilliant the Holyrood staff are but it's obviously very nice to be recognised in this way by the industry we all love.  

“Scotland has a thriving, and often overlooked, magazine sector covering all manner of issues with immensely talented journalists and designers working in it, and it deserves all the support it can get. I look forward to the winners being announced at the ceremony on 29 November and send good luck and best wishes to all our fellow shortlisted nominees."

Full list of Holyrood’s nominations

Business title of the year

Columnist of the year (Mandy Rhodes)

Columnist of the year (Louise Wilson)

Cover of the year

Designer of the year (Vicky Axelson)

Editor of the year (Mandy Rhodes)  

Event of the year (Holyrood’s 500th issue reception)

Supplement or special of the year (Holyrood 500 souvenir issue & Caledonian companion)

Writer of the year (Kirsteen Paterson)

Writer of the year (Mandy Rhodes)

Writer of the year (Margaret Taylor)

Young journalist of the year (Ruaraidh Gilmour)

The winners will be announced at the Old Fruitmarket in Glasgow on 29 November.

Holyrood Newsletters

Holyrood provides comprehensive coverage of Scottish politics, offering award-winning reporting and analysis: Subscribe

Read the most recent article written by Staff reporter - Police submit Operation Branchform report to Crown after Peter Murrell charged.

Get award-winning journalism delivered straight to your inbox

Get award-winning journalism delivered straight to your inbox


Popular reads
Back to top