Subscribe to Holyrood updates

Newsletter sign-up


Follow us

Scotland’s fortnightly political & current affairs magazine


Subscribe to Holyrood
by Staff reporter
30 June 2023
Fergus Ewing, Alison Johnstone and Anas Sarwar up for MSP of the Year Award

Fergus Ewing, Alison Johnstone and Anas Sarwar up for MSP of the Year Award

SNP backbencher Fergus Ewing, Presiding Officer Alison Johnstone and Scottish Labour leader Anas Sarwar are in the running for the top gong at Holyrood’s annual political awards.

Holyrood’s Garden Party will take place in September, with the winners of the awards to be announced on the night.

The trio have been nominated for the MSP of the Year by this year's prestigious judging panel, which includes cross bench MSPs, political journalists, and a former presiding officer.

Meanwhile, SNP MSPs Michelle Thomson and Ash Regan, and Tory MSP Rachael Hamilton are on the shortlist for Political Hero.

And Tory MSPs Russell Findlay and Jamie Greene, and Labour MSP Paul Sweeney are in the running for Backbencher of the Year.

Findlay is also nominated for One to Watch, alongside Net Zero Secretary Mairi McAllan and Labour MSP Paul O’Kane.

Looking towards London, Lib Dem Wendy Chamberlain, SNP Westminster leader Stephen Flynn and Scottish Secretary Alister Jack are up for Best Scot at Westminster.

The Holyrood Political Awards honour the best and brightest of Scotland’s elected representatives over the last year.

After careful deliberation by our esteemed judging panel, the full shortlist is as follows:

One To Watch

Russell Findlay

Màiri McAllan

Paul O’Kane


Speech Of The Year

Donald Cameron

Jamie Greene

Michael Marra


Tweet Of The Day

Stephen Kerr

Liam McArthur

Douglas Ross


The Powering Change Award

Covid-19 Committee

Finance Committee

Public Audit Committee


The Green Giant Award

Maurice Golden

Gillian Mackay & Colin Smyth

Willie Rennie & Alex Cole-Hamilton


Flushable Motion Of The Year

Stephanie Callaghan

Liam Kerr

Liam McArthur


Political Staffer Of The Year

Lesley Gulland (Ian Murray MP)

Roberta Kirosingh (Lisa Cameron MP)

Daniel McCroskrie (Donald Cameron MSP)


Best Scot At Westminster

Wendy Chamberlain

Stephen Flynn

Alister Jack


Backbencher Of The Year

Russell Findlay

Jamie Greene

Paul Sweeney


Open All Hours Award

Foysol Choudhury

Bob Doris

Tess White


The Business Of Politics Award

Ivan McKee

Anas Sarwar

MSPs & MPs backing the Highland Green Freeport


MSP Of The Year Award

Fergus Ewing

Alison Johnstone

Anas Sarwar


Political Hero Of The Year

Michelle Thomson

Ash Regan

Rachael Hamilton

Holyrood Newsletters

Holyrood provides comprehensive coverage of Scottish politics, offering award-winning reporting and analysis: Subscribe

Read the most recent article written by Staff reporter - Police submit Operation Branchform report to Crown after Peter Murrell charged.

Get award-winning journalism delivered straight to your inbox

Get award-winning journalism delivered straight to your inbox


Popular reads
Back to top