SNP releases candidate lists ahead of 2016 election

Written by Staff Reporter on 12 October 2015 in Inside Politics

Among constituency candidates, 46 per cent are female – up from 28 per cent in 2011

The SNP has released its lists of candidates ahead of the 2016 Scottish Parliament elections.

Among constituency candidates, 46 per cent are female – up from 28 per cent in 2011, while, of the 96 regional list nominees, 45 per cent are women – up from 26 per cent.

Of those who are not already sitting MSPs, 68 per cent of constituency candidates and 52 per cent of the regional list nominees are female.


Government law on 'revenge porn' risks 'justice lottery', warn police

Neil Findlay on the rise of Jeremy Corbyn

SNP business convener Derek Mackay said: “As a result of our action to lead by example on gender balance, more female SNP candidates are now going forward for election to Holyrood in 2016. We have been making steady progress on this since 2011 and it’s clear that the introduction of moves to improve gender balance have helped deliver progress.

“Women are bearing the brunt of the Tory government’s austerity cuts – as well as suffering from the effects of a gender pay gap and a clear lack of representation. This shows exactly why we need Scotland’s women to be better represented in our national parliament.”


1 Alex Neil

2 Christina McKelvie

3 Sophia Coyle

4 Julie Hepburn

5 Angus MacDonald

6 Julie McAnulty

7 Clare Adamson

8 Fulton Macgregor

9 Richard Lyle

10 Anum Qaisar

11 Fiona Collie

12 Steven Carleschi


1 Nicola Sturgeon

2 Humza Yousaf

3 Bob Doris

4 Bill Kidd

5 Rhiannon Spear

6 Ivan McKee

7 Suzanne McLaughlin

8 Clare Haughey

9 Caroline Welsh

10 Charandeep Singh

11 Margaret Lennon

12 Alistair Fulton


1 Maree Todd

2 Laura Mitchell

3 Michael Mackenzie

4 Elizabeth MacDonald

5 Richard Laird

6 Danus Skene

7 Angus MacLeod

8 Hugh Moodie

9 Ken Gowans

10 Donna Heddle

11 Antony Harrison

12 Muriel Cockburn


1 Angela Constance

2 Fiona Hyslop

3 Jil Murphy

4 Irshad Ahmed

5 Jim Eadie

6 Ash Denham

7 Toni Giugliano

8 Colin Beattie

9 Lloyd Quinan

10 Ben Macpherson

11 Greg McCarra

12 Gordon MacDonald


1 John Swinney

2 Annabelle Ewing

3 Keith Brown

4 Shirley-Anne Somerville

5 David Torrance

6 Alycia Hayes

7 David Doogan

8 Roderick Campbell

9 Karen Marjoram

10 Rosemary Hunter

11 Maciej Wiczynski

12 Neale Hanvey


1 Christian Allard

2 Fergus Mutch

3 Vari McDonald

4 Kevin Stewart

5 Nigel Don

6 Nadia El-Nakla

7 Maureen Watt

8 Mark McDonald

9 William Duff

10 Bryan Stuart

11 Gill Samarai

12 Donald Morrison


1 Joan McAlpine

2 Aileen Campbell

3 Jeane Freeman

4 Emma Harper

5 Paul Wheelhouse

6 Aileen McLeod

7 Chic Brodie

8 Mairi McAllan

9 Peter Henderson

10 Paul McLennan

11 Jennifer Dunn

12 Douglas-James Johnston-Smith


1 Derek Mackay

2 Stewart Maxwell

3 Kenneth Gibson

4 Stuart McMillan

5 Rona Mackay

6 Ian McDougall

7 Gil Paterson

8 Gail Robertson

9 Ruth Maguire

10 Qasim Hanif

11 Nighet Riaz

12 Michelle Rodger


Related Articles

Scottish Government 'concerned' for trade official detained in China
21 August 2019

The Chinese Foreign Ministry confirmed that Cheng has been given 15 days of “administrative detention”, claiming he had violated public security law

New national leadership group to strengthen community justice in Scotland
21 August 2019

The National Community Justice Leadership Group will be co-chaired by Justice Secretary Humza Yousaf and Councillor Kelly Parry of COSLA

Related Sponsored Articles

Associate feature: 5 ways IoT is transforming the public sector
5 February 2018

Vodafone explores some of the ways IoT is significantly improving public sector service delivery

Share this page