Subscribe to Holyrood updates

Newsletter sign-up


Follow us

Scotland’s fortnightly political & current affairs magazine


Subscribe to Holyrood
by Staff reporter
14 December 2015
Scottish Labour releases candidates lists ahead of the 2016 Scottish Parliament elections

Scottish Labour releases candidates lists ahead of the 2016 Scottish Parliament elections

Scottish Labour has released the candidates for its regional lists ahead of the 2016 Scottish Parliament election.

Voting will now take place throughout January, with the final rankings on each list announced in February.

In an effort to promote a 50:50 gender split, the list positions will then be changed after voting to ensure it alternates between men and women.

Leader Kezia Dugdale, who is guaranteed first place on the Lothians list, said: “This is one of the most diverse shortlists of candidates that Scottish Labour has ever offered.

“At least half of our new Holyrood candidates next year will be women – and this shortlist takes us a step closer to a 50:50 Parliament. Our Parliament should look like the communities we seek to serve, and we will lead the way in making sure that women across Scotland have a voice.

“We want candidates next year who reflect modern Scotland and demonstrate to people that the Scottish Labour Party offers not just new faces, but new ideas to take our county forward. These candidates are drawn from every walk of life and many professions – charity workers, campaigners, lawyers, business people, office workers, creatives and trade unionists can all be found on this list.

Ballots will open on Monday 4 January and close on Monday 1 February, with results expected on the weekend of 5th-7th February.

Shortlisted Candidates

Central Scotland

Allyson Black

Martyn Cook

Angela Feeney

Hugh Gaffney

Linda Gow

Mark Griffin

Liz Ann Handibode

Paul Kelly

Jim Lee

Monica Lennon

Richard Leonard

Craig Martin

Margaret McCulloch

Siobhan McMahon

Michael McMahon

Heather McVey

John Pentland

Elaine Smith

Mandy Telford

Richard Tullett


James Adams

Bill Butler

Patricia Ferguson

Marie Garrity

James Kelly

Johann Lamont

Simon MacFarlane

Hanzala Malik

Paul Martin

Pauline McNeill

Anne McTaggart

Samantha Ritchie

Anas Sarwar

Soryia Siddique

Highlands and Islands

Sarah Atkin

Robina Barton

John Erskine

Leah Franchetti

Rhoda Grant

Gerry McGarvey

Sean Morton

David Stewart


(First position: Kezia Dugdale)

Sarah Boyack

Jalal Chaudry

Richard Corrall

Neil Findlay

Bernard Harkins

Catriona Headley

Ann Henderson

Lesley Hinds

Daniel Johnson

Shami Khan

Eilidh MacDonald

Angela Moohan

Otis Manasseh Ortesheh

Mid Scotland and Fife

(First position: Alex Rowley)

Claire Baker

Jayne Baxter

Rebecca Bell

Johanna Boyd

Altany Craik

Thomas Docherty

Jamie Glackin

Cara Hilton

Mark Hood

Chris Kane

Lesley Laird

Jim Leishman

Mary Lockhart

Craig Miller

Kay Morrison

North East Scotland

Lewis Macdonald

Jenny Marra

Lesley Brennan

Sarah Duncan

Alison Evison

Frank Gilfeather

Richard McCready

Joanne McFadden

Nathan Morrison

William Young

South Scotland

Claudia Beamish

Andrew Cochran

Fiona Dugdale

Iain Gray

Kenryck Lloyd-Jones

Carol Mochan

Fiona O’Donnell

Colin Smyth

West Scotland

Shiraz Ahmed

Jackie Baillie

Johanna Baxter

Neil Bibby

Gail Casey

Joseph Cullinane

Alison Dowling

Mary Fee

Ken Macintosh

Mark MacMillan

Ian McAlpine

Margaret McCarthy

Martin McCluskey

Siobhan McCready

Angela McGinley

Ben Procter

Moira Ramage

Paul Sweeney

Holyrood Newsletters

Holyrood provides comprehensive coverage of Scottish politics, offering award-winning reporting and analysis: Subscribe

Read the most recent article written by Staff reporter - Police submit Operation Branchform report to Crown after Peter Murrell charged.

Get award-winning journalism delivered straight to your inbox

Get award-winning journalism delivered straight to your inbox


Popular reads
Back to top