Follow us

Scotland’s fortnightly political & current affairs magazine


Subscribe to Holyrood
Liberal Democrats publish full list of 2019 general election candidates standing in Scotland

Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson - Image credit: Holyrood

Liberal Democrats publish full list of 2019 general election candidates standing in Scotland

The Liberal Democrats have published a full list of their candidates for the forthcoming general election on 12 December.

The party will contest all 59 seats in Scotland, with four current MPs, party leader Jo Swinson in East Dunbartonshire, Alistair Carmichael in Orkney and Shetland, Christine Jardine in Edinburgh West and Jamie Stone in Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross campaigning to hold their seats.

A key target for the Lib Dems will be North East Fife, which they narrowly lost to the SNP’s Stephen Gethins by two votes in the 2017 general election.

North East Fife will be contested by Wendy Chamberlain, the party’s constitutional relations spokesperson.

Launching the party’s plan for Scotland earlier this week, Scottish Liberal Democrat leader Willie Rennie said: “The Liberal Democrats stand on the side of the majority of people in Scotland who want to see Scotland remain in the UK and the UK keep its place in the European Union. 

“The SNP peddle the myth that it's one or the other, but that's not true. With a Liberal Democrat government, you can have both. 

“In this election we have an opportunity build a brighter future. On 12th December vote Liberal Democrat to do just that.”


Full list of Liberal Democrat candidates:

Aberdeen North

Isobel Davidson

Aberdeen South

Ian Yuill

Airdrie and Shotts

William Crossman


Ben Lawrie

Argyll and Bute

Alan Reid

Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

Helena Bongard

Banff and Buchan

Alison Smith

Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

Jenny Marr

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

Jamie Stone

Central Ayrshire

Emma Farthing Sykes

Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill

David Stevens

Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

Susan Murray

Dumfries and Galloway

McNabb Laurie

Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale

John Ferry

Dundee East

Michael Crichton

Dundee West

Daniel Coleman

Dunfermline and West Fife

Rebecca Bell

East Dunbartonshire

Jo Swinson

East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow

Ewan McRobert

East Lothian

Robert O'Riordan

East Renfrewshire

Andrew McGlynn

Edinburgh East

Jill Reilly

Edinburgh North and Leith

Bruce Wilson

Edinburgh South

Alan Beal

Edinburgh South West

Tom Inglis

Edinburgh West

Christine Jardine


Austin Reid

Glasgow Central

Ewan Hoyle

Glasgow East

Yvonne Finlayson

Glasgow North

Andrew Chamberlain

Glasgow North East

Nicholas Moohan

Glasgow North West

James Speirs

Glasgow South

Carole Ford

Glasgow South West

Ben Denton Cardew


Jane Ann Liston


James Oates


Jacci Stoyle

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

Denis Rixson

Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Edward Thornley

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath

Gillian Cole Hamilton

Lanark and Hamilton East

Jane Pickard

Linlithgow and East Falkirk

Sally Pattle


Charles Dundas


Stephen Arrundale


Fiona Campbell Trevor

Motherwell and Wishaw

Christopher Wilson

Na h-Eileanan an Iar

Neil Mitchison

North Ayrshire and Arran

Louise Young

North East Fife

Wendy Chamberlain

Ochil and South Perthshire

Ilyan Stefanov

Orkney and Shetland

Alistair Carmichael

Paisley and Renfrewshire North

Ross Stalker

Paisley and Renfrewshire South

Jack Clark

Perth and North Perthshire

Peter Barrett

Ross, Skye and Lochaber

Craig Harrow

Rutherglen and Hamilton West

Mark McGeever


Fayzan Rehman

West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

John Waddell

West Dunbartonshire

Jenni Lang

Stay in the know with our fortnightly magazine

Stay in the know with our fortnightly magazine


Popular reads
Back to top