Graeme Dey elected convener of the Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee

Written by Liam Kirkaldy on 17 June 2016 in News

Conservative MSP Maurice Golden elected deputy convener

Graeme Dey has been elected convener of the Scottish Parliament’s Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee.

Dey, the SNP MSP for Angus South, was elected convener after being nominated by Kate Forbes.

West of Scotland Conservative MSP Maurice Golden was elected deputy convener.


Replace National Grid with independent operator, says Energy and Climate Change Committee

Scotland hits 2020 emissions reduction target six years early

Previously the deputy convener of the committee, Dey is known to be sceptical over fracking. In a recent debate, he said: “The moratorium is in place, and I believe – in common with Friends of the Earth Scotland – that a full and thorough assessment of the public health, climate and environmental impacts of going down the fracking route will, in due course, lead to an outright and watertight ban.”

Labour MSP Claudia Beamish opened proceedings, highlighting the committee’s role in scrutinising secondary legislation relating to the 2016 Land Reform Act.

“This new committee has an incredible responsibility and a precious opportunity in relation to climate change to scrutinise and support the step change that is needed at all levels of society if we are to protect our planet and communities and develop a new quality of life for everyone in Scotland and across the world for today and tomorrow.”

She said: “Our responsibilities as custodians of Scotland’s magnificent environment range across land, sea and air. Helping to guide sustainable development is a complex challenge that I am sure we will all rise to.

“Our Land Reform (Scotland) Act 2016 will bring much significant secondary legislation to our committee and enable people in rural and urban Scotland greater opportunities to better control their own destiny. I very much look forward to working with everyone in a productive and effective manner.”

The Committee membership is:

Convener: Graeme Dey (Angus South) (SNP)

Deputy convener: Maurice Golden (West Scotland) (Con)

  • Claudia Beamish (South Scotland) (Lab)
  • Alexander Burnett (Aberdeenshire West) (Con)
  • Finlay Carson (Galloway and West Dumfries) (Con)
  • Kate Forbes (Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch) (SNP)
  • Emma Harper (South Scotland) (SNP)
  • Angus MacDonald (Falkirk East) (SNP)
  • Gail Ross (Caithness, Sutherland and Ross) (SNP)
  • Mark Ruskell (Mid Scotland and Fife) (Green)
  • David Stewart (Highlands and Islands) (Lab)



Related Articles

The moral case for divestment from fossil fuels is far from clear cut
22 February 2018

Professor Robert Ellam discusses climate change and calls for universities to divest from fossil fuels

SNP calls for recovering oil revenues to be invested in Scotland
5 February 2018

Reports suggest the Treasury is in line to receive around £1bn in tax revenues from the industry in the coming financial year

Brexit will put energy trading between the UK and EU at risk, warn Lords
29 January 2018

The EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee found that, with the EU providing around 12 per cent of the UK’s gas, leaving the single market could raise serious problems for maintaining supply

Related Sponsored Articles

Associate feature: 5 ways IoT is transforming the public sector
5 February 2018

Vodafone explores some of the ways IoT is significantly improving public sector service delivery

Share this page